I wandered lonely as a cloud…

There may have been a grey sky this morning as I went about my daily wandering but that didn’t detract from the beauty of my route. All around the house, the fields are awash with yellow – the sunflowers are in full bloom and it is a glorious sight.

The hedgerows are splashed with red from poppies, cornflowers (if I remember correctly from my childhood obsession with Flower Fairies) bob their heads next to the corn fields, while a pretty white flower marks the edge of the wheat field. It led me to wondering who decides what is a weed and what is a flower.

Just as I was turning the corner to head home, I looked up and saw a kite gliding on the same cool breeze that I was enjoying in my face.

It has all made me feel rather Wordsworth-esque. Would love to be able to sit and write for a while, but alas… my accounts are calling. Poetry may have bring pleasure but putting food on the table tops it all.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lyn says:

    A weed is just a flower growing in the wrong place!

    Like

    1. Becky says:

      My thoughts exactly! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

