What to read next?

20160814_145033A promise I made to myself before moving to France was that when I got here I would make more time to read. I love reading. Getting lost in the pages of an adventure, exploring new worlds and culture, learning about life through the eyes of others – what is not to enjoy!

So far I’ve managed to keep to my word. I’ve finished the Game of Thrones series by George R. R. Martin (which are now in my list of all time favourite books); I’ve reminded myself of what I need to do achieve my 4-hour week (I have a long way to go before that goal is realised) and I’ve polished off two light reads: the aforementioned Nice Work (if you can get it) by Celia Imrie and The Hope Family Calendar by Mike Gayle. 

What next?

Most of my personal library is in storage so I’ve not got loads to choose from. Luckily my colleague Tom knows me very well and gave me a selection of fine titles as part of my leaving-the-London present; and I’ve recently participated in a Facebook-instigated book swap which resulted in one new title to add to the collection.

All of which means that I have the following to choose from:

The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy – the result of the Facebook book swap

Atonement by Ian McEwan – a book I’ve started to read at least four times already but it’s just not grabbing me. Should I keep at it?

Atomised by Michel Houellebecq – one of Tom’s choices

The Flowers of Evil – a compilation of previously banned poems by Charles Baudelaire (also from Tom)

Existentialism and Humanism by Jean-Paul Sartre (again, this has Tom’s stamp all over it!)

What should I go for? Something heavy and intellectual or an easy read? Should I give Atonement another go?

Thoughts and comments most welcome!

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lyn says:

    Re. Atonement. Absolutely not. Same for me, if it doesn’t grab you within a couple of chapters bin it. Life’s too short. So many books so little time! L x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Atomised, maybe? Suitably French but possibly a touch easier to read than some of the other options…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

